Need Assistance - '87 Dodge Ram 50 Starting/Ignition Problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2009, 10:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need Assistance - '87 Dodge Ram 50 Starting/Ignition Problems

Good afternoon, I am new to this forum and am excited I found something dedicated to Mopars. I am also new to being an owner of a Mopar. I recently acquire an '87 Dodge Ram 50, 5 spd manual, from my grandfather's estate as he passed away. I wanted this truck for sentimental value as it was our "runnin' around" truck while I was growing up as well as other value such as reliability and fuel mileage.

I have been able to clean up the interior and exterior and have found I have a possible ignition issue while trying to start the engine. This could be it yet I am no expert by any means as this has been out of my league in the past. When I attempt to use the key start, I can hear a "click" one time and then it stops and there is no noise. I have tried jumper cables and even a battery charger thinking the battery is low or dead, but still will not start.

Would anyone educated direct me where to look first? Should I look at the starter cables, cable ground, solenoid, remove starter and have it tested, etc? Any advise would be greatly appreciated as I would love to be able to use this truck and keep it from going to the salvage yard.

Thank you in advance.

Aaron
Old 06-23-2009, 12:05 PM
Mopar Lover

Hey Aaron welcome to the Forum.
1st Check your battery connections to see that everything is ok
2nd Do you have a multimeter ? If so check the voltage that is in the battery.
3rd Check the larger wire that runs from the + side of battery to the starter, make sure connection is good.
4th Do that stuff and let us know what you find out.
Old 06-23-2009, 06:08 PM
Admin

Received 200 Likes on 195 Posts
Welcome to the forum!