Timing issues after lean burn conversion

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2015, 06:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Timing issues after lean burn conversion

I did a lean burn conversion using a kit and a rebuilt/stock non lean burn carb on a 76 Cordoba with a 400. The car will not start/run unless I advance the timing way further than specs. So much so that I can't advance any more without hitting the radiator hose. The car idles and will run and drive this way, but poorly and spits back through the carb when you give it even a moderate amount of gas. I am a novice mech but hoping there was an easy answer to this? Thanks for any help!
Old 03-05-2015, 08:02 AM
Mopar Lover

Received 871 Likes on 850 Posts
Thermo Quad Carburetor???
Might have a vacuum leak...
Did you use the 5 pin control box? Or did you install a lean burn box????
Best stuff to use rite here.... http://www.4secondsflat.com/a688specs.html

Last edited by RacerHog; 03-05-2015 at 08:09 AM.
Old 03-05-2015, 08:19 AM

Originally Posted by RacerHog
Thermo Quad Carburetor???
Might have a vacuum leak...
Did you use the 5 pin control box? Or did you install a lean burn box????
Best stuff to use rite here.... http://www.4secondsflat.com/a688specs.html
Thanks for the reply! I used http://www.summitracing.com/parts/urm-5-5170 for a carb and http://www.jegs.com/i/Proform/778/66993/10002/-1 for the kit.

I did check for vacuum leaks and found one that I plugged but it made no difference. A vacuum leak would effect the timing that much?

Last edited by chuck748; 03-05-2015 at 08:26 AM.
Old 03-05-2015, 09:12 AM
Mopar Fanatic

Received 27 Likes on 27 Posts
i think your timing is simply wrong. how did you set it. how do you know what the timing "is"

some mopar distributors have the drive tang in different spot relative to rotor. this will change timing when changing distributors

you can just move plug wires one hole if necessary, otherwise walk dist. drive gear up with a screwdriver and change the drive gear position