72 cuda ignition problems

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2014, 06:16 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
72 cuda ignition problems

hello, Im new to the thread and joined because I love e bodies. I have a 72 barracuda that I have been fighting ignition problems with for over a month. I was driving and had car lose spark. I had the inline fuse at the starter relay blow and melted the ignition switch wiring harness plug at the base of the steering column. So far I have replaced the ignition switch tumbler, ignition switch and harness down column, dual resistor ballast, ignition module, engine wiring harness, coil, starter, starter relay and battery and still wont run. This is what is going on, I have 12 volts at + side of coil in run position but drop to 7 when cranking but if I unplug pentistar plug from ecu the + side of coil reads 12 while cranking. At the blue yellow wire at the ecu plug I have 12 volts in the run position but drop to 8.7 when I crank engine? I unplugged the - side of coil and grounded the terminal and took coil wire off the top of the dist. and placed it next to the intake and in run I have no spark but in crank position or start I have 1 spark and it only seems to spark when I release the key. Only 1 spark when key is released. What is wrong guys, I have never felt so stupid as I have while working on this. Everything is new and nothing is right
Old 07-17-2014, 07:04 AM
Mopar Lover

Received 248 Likes on 241 Posts
All these cars pretty much work the same.

First, visit this thread

http://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar/...p?p=1970088617

and download yourself a free 72 Chrysler service manual

More good info here

http://www.mymopar.com/index.php?pid=31

Now, the starting voltage during crank comes from the ignition switch, usually known as "IGN 2" or the "bypass circuit."

So, from the key, going through the bulkhead, you have TWO power sources, "IGN 1" which is "run" and in start, IGN 2 which supplies the coil + side of the key